Home 196+ forum 196+ forum Munich Hotel Property Award

Hotel Property Award

Hotel Property Award 2023

Established in 2002, the Hotel Property Award is considered the most prestigious annual European hospitality award.

The prestigious industry Award targets hotels that were completed and opened in Europe within the last 18 months. The prize goes to a hotel which stands out from among its competitors in terms of architecture, design and innovation, no matter whether it is a luxury or a budget hotel, a chain hotel or privately managed, short or long stay, city hotel or holiday resort. 196+ forum Munich regards a homogeneous combination of all the individual aspects to form a winning, and ultimately economically successful hotel concept as crucial, regardless of the category into which a particular hotel falls. An independent jury nominates up to ten hotels and shortlists three finalists, which are presented at the 196+ forum Munich.

For a closer look, please click on: Hotel Property Award

Falkensteiner Hotel Montafon is the winner of the “Hotel Property Award 2023”

The other two finalists (in alphabetical order):
Goldene Rose Dinkelsbuehl
Scandic Munich Macherei

Conditions for 2023

Any company involved in the planning and operation of the hotel may take part, e.g. the project developer, hotel owner, hotel operator, investor, architect or interior designer.

The hotel must be located in Europe and opened between January 2022 and June 2023. Each hotel can only take part in the competition once.

The main criteria are:

  • originality of the accommodation concept,
  • architectural quality (building and façade),
  • integration into the project’s surroundings,
  • design (interior fittings),
  • innovation (planning and construction, design, operation and technology, related processes, environment/sustainability) and
  • profitability.

All information for applicants incl. Terms and Conditions and the set of criteria in detail for 2023 you will find here:

Hotel Property Award_Criteria_Terms and Conditions_2023

Hotelimmobilie des Jahres_Kriterien_Teilnahmebedingungen_2023

For the participation in the competition a nominal fee of approx. 149 euros plus value added tax is raised.

Online application for 2023

Follow the link and apply until 31 July 2023

Mediapartners: AHGZ (Matthaes Verlag beim Deutschen Fachverlag) and hotelbau (Forum Zeitschriften und Spezialmedien)

Previous winners

Falkensteiner Hotel Montafon (2023), Wilmina, Berlin (2022), Ruby Luna Düsseldorf (2021), Grand Park Hotel Rovinj (2020), Schgaguler Hotel, Kastelruth (2019), QO Amsterdam (2018), Bretterbude, Heiligenhafen (2017), Hotel Reichshof Hamburg CURIO Collection by Hilton (2016), Hotel Zoo Berlin (2015), Holzhotel Forsthofalm, Leogang (2014), Radisson Blu, Nantes (2013), Topazz, Vienna (2012), 25hours HafenCity, Hamburg (2011), Roomers, Frankfurt am Main (2010), Lindner Hotel Tierpark Hagenbeck, Hamburg (2009), 25hours by Levis, Frankfurt am Main (2008), Schlosshotel Elmau, Elmau (2007), Daniel, Graz (2006), Colosseo, Europapark Rust (2004), Hotel Amigo Brussels & Accor Suite Hotel Hamburg (2003), Hilton Cologne (2002).