Home 196+ forum 196+ hotelforum Munich Hotel Property Award

Hotel Property Award

Hotel Property Award

Established in 2002, the Hotel Property Award is considered the most prestigious annual European hospitality award. An independent jury nominates up to ten hotels and shortlists three finalists, which are presented at the 196+ hotelforum Munich.

Ruby Luna Düsseldorf is the winner of the “Hotel Property Award 2021”

The other two finalists: Das Schlafwerk near Stuttgart and the Villa Copenhagen in Denmark.

Previous winners

Grand Park Hotel Rovinj (2020), Schgaguler Hotel, Kastelruth (2019), QO Amsterdam (2018), Bretterbude, Heiligenhafen (2017), Hotel Reichshof Hamburg CURIO Collection by Hilton (2016), Hotel Zoo Berlin (2015), Holzhotel Forsthofalm, Leogang (2014), Radisson Blu, Nantes (2013), Topazz, Vienna (2012), 25hours HafenCity, Hamburg (2011), Roomers, Frankfurt am Main (2010), Lindner Hotel Tierpark Hagenbeck, Hamburg (2009), 25hours by Levis, Frankfurt am Main (2008), Schlosshotel Elmau, Elmau (2007), Daniel, Graz (2006), Colosseo, Europapark Rust (2004), Hotel Amigo Brussels & Accor Suite Hotel Hamburg (2003), Hilton Cologne (2002).


Any company involved in the planning and operation of the hotel may take part, e.g. the project developer, hotel owner, hotel operator, investor, architect or interior designer.

The hotel must be located in Europe and has been constructed and opened between January of the previous year and June/July of the current year. Each hotel can only take part in the competition once.

The main criteria are:

  • originality of the accommodation concept,
  • architectural quality (building and façade),
  • integration into the project’s surroundings,
  • design (interior fittings),
  • innovation (planning and construction, design, operation and technology, related processes, environment/sustainability) and
  • profitability. 

Mediapartners: AHGZ (Matthaes Verlag beim Deutschen Fachverlag) and hotelbau (Forum Zeitschriften und Spezialmedien)