Home 196+ forum 196+ hotelforum Hotel Property Award

Hotel Property Award

Hotel Property Award 2022

Established in 2002, the Hotel Property Award is considered the most prestigious annual European hospitality award.

The prestigious industry Award targets hotels that were completed and opened in Europe between January 2021 and June 2022. The prize goes to a hotel which stands out from among its competitors in terms of architecture, design and innovation, no matter whether it is a luxury or a budget hotel, a chain hotel or privately managed, short or long stay, city hotel or holiday resort. 196+ hotelforum Munich regards a homogeneous combination of all the individual aspects to form a winning, and ultimately economically-successful, hotel concept as crucial, regardless of the category into which a particular hotel falls. An independent jury nominates up to ten hotels and shortlists three finalists, which are presented at the 196+ hotelforum Munich.

For a closer look, please click on: Hotel Property Award

Ruby Luna Düsseldorf is the winner of the “Hotel Property Award 2021”

The other two finalists: Das Schlafwerk near Stuttgart and the Villa Copenhagen in Denmark.


Any company involved in the planning and operation of the hotel may take part, e.g. the project developer, hotel owner, hotel operator, investor, architect or interior designer.

The hotel must be located in Europe and opened between January 2021 and June 2022. Each hotel can only take part in the competition once.

The main criteria are:

  • originality of the accommodation concept,
  • architectural quality (building and façade),
  • integration into the project’s surroundings,
  • design (interior fittings),
  • innovation (planning and construction, design, operation and technology, related processes, environment/sustainability) and
  • profitability. 

All information for applicants incl. Terms and Conditions and the set of criteria in detail find here:

Hotel Property Award 2022
Hotelimmobilie des Jahres 2022

The submissions deadline for 2022 is closed.

For the participation in the competition a nominal fee of 149 euros plus value added tax is raised, which includes at the same time a virtual participation in the event.

Mediapartners: AHGZ (Matthaes Verlag beim Deutschen Fachverlag) and hotelbau (Forum Zeitschriften und Spezialmedien)

Previous winners

Ruby Luna Düsseldorf (2021), Grand Park Hotel Rovinj (2020), Schgaguler Hotel, Kastelruth (2019), QO Amsterdam (2018), Bretterbude, Heiligenhafen (2017), Hotel Reichshof Hamburg CURIO Collection by Hilton (2016), Hotel Zoo Berlin (2015), Holzhotel Forsthofalm, Leogang (2014), Radisson Blu, Nantes (2013), Topazz, Vienna (2012), 25hours HafenCity, Hamburg (2011), Roomers, Frankfurt am Main (2010), Lindner Hotel Tierpark Hagenbeck, Hamburg (2009), 25hours by Levis, Frankfurt am Main (2008), Schlosshotel Elmau, Elmau (2007), Daniel, Graz (2006), Colosseo, Europapark Rust (2004), Hotel Amigo Brussels & Accor Suite Hotel Hamburg (2003), Hilton Cologne (2002).